& With Finals, Comes Stress….

It’s that time of year – pharmacy school finals.

destressed

As I try and prepare for the torture that is 7 finals in the next week, all I find myself thinking about is – when can I just lay in bed and binge watch Netflix again?

Managing the stress that comes with the end of the semester is a really tough thing to do. How you manage to “de-stress” is a really personal thing — not everything works for everyone, some things have the opposite effect and stress you out more… it takes a matter of time to find what really works and what doesn’t.

I will not regale you with stories of all the times my de-stressing failed, but instead, I will share a few things that have helped me to get through the tough times.

  1. Do not stay indoors for the entire duration of your study time. I cannot stress this enough. Fresh air really does wonders. Be sure to take time to clear your head, go outside for a bit, or at least leave your study space. We all know that staring at something for hours does not mean you know it any better – sometimes taking a break is crucial for your mind to process the information.
  2. Do call someone that cares. If there is one thing I have learned throughout my entire undergraduate career and my very short time in professional school, it is the importance of your support group. There is not a day that goes by where I have not called my mom, my boyfriend, or Theresa (sometimes all three in the same day). They may not fully understand what you are going through, but that doesn’t matter – just talking helps to de-stress and put things into perspective for you.
  3. Do not sacrifice sleep for study. I would never ever condone this behavior. I do not believe in staying up all night to study. As I stated before, sometimes your brain just needs time to process all the information; this can’t properly be done without giving your brain its proper rest! Giving your mind the time to recharge is important – don’t forget this!
  4. Do remember that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. At this point, you’ve finished all your classes and you are probably getting ready to go home. Just take one day (or one final) at a time, and think about all the good and happy things waiting for you once the week is over. If I can do it, you can do it! Also, remember that Netflix is at the end of this tunnel too.

Happy studying!

:)Lauren

Leave a Reply

